It’s only happened 20 times in history. The elusive perfect game was just 1 out away from becoming a reality for the Detroit Tigers’ pitcher Armando Galarraga when umpire Jim Joyce missed what should have been the simplest of calls to take away Galarraga’s place the history books.

Joyce later made a statement admitting his mistake saying:

I just cost that kid a perfect game. I thought he (Jason Donald) beat the throw. I was convinced he beat the throw, until I saw the replay. It was the biggest call of my career. I don’t blame them a bit or anything that was said. I would have said it myself if I had been Galarraga. I would have been the first person in my face and he never said a word to me.

As soon as Joyce called the runner safe, Galarraga stood there smiling, the image of grace and perfection – even if it won’t show up in the record books.

It was only a matter of time before the instant replay became a part of the game with home runs… is it time to implement it when history is involved?

